The Institute for Electrical Engineering and Plasma Technology is member of Research Department Plasmas with Complex Interactions. Among courses in "Fundamentels of Electrical Engineering" we do teaching and research in the field of plasma technology. Head of the institute is Prof. Dr. Peter Awakowicz . He also is the coordinator of CRC/Transregio 87 "Pulsed high power plasmas for the synthesis of nanostructural functional layers" - SFB-TR 87 - funded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG).

The chair of plasma technology is headed by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Mussenbrock. The research topics are in the area of low-temperature plasmas as well as nano-electronic and nano-ionic devices. The team develops analytical and numerical methods for the modeling and simulation of the aforementioned non-equilibrium systems and applies them in conjunction with experiments. The overall aim is to understand the macroscopic behavior of the systems based on the microscopic dynamics of the atoms, molecules, electrons and photons involved.

The chair is and was member of the CRC/Transregio TRR 87 "Pulsed high power plasmas for the synthesis of nanostructured functional layers" - SFB-TR 87, the Collaborative Research Center SFB 1316 "Transient atmospheric plasmas - from plasmas to liquids to solids" (both funded by the German Research Foundation DFG) as well as the DFG Research Units FOR 1123 "Physics of Microplasmas" and FOR 2093 "Memristive devices for neuronal systems".