AEPT ist der Lehrstuhl für Angewandte Elektrodynamik und Plasmatechnik in the Fakultät für Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik der Ruhr-Universität Bochum.

AEPT is advancing Green Plasma Technology, focusing on sustainable plasma processes for micro- and nanoelectronics fabrication at low pressure, as well as gas conversion and environmental applications at atmospheric pressure. The scope of work extends beyond the application of plasmas and the development of related plasma sources to include the development of electrical and optical Diagnostikmethoden, alongside mathematical modeling und numerical simulation.

AEPT is member of koordinierten Forschungsinitiativen: SFB 1316 “Transient Atmospheric Plasmas – From Plasmas to Liquids to Solids“, SFB 1461 “Neurotronics: Bio-inspired Information Pathways" und ForMikro – FlexTMDSense, unter anderem

AEPT ist Mitglied des Re­se­arch De­part­ment Plas­mas with Com­plex In­ter­ac­tions sowie des Materials Research Department an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum.

AEPT unterstützt nachdrücklich junge UnternehmenBereits zwei Start-ups sind aus dem Institut hervorgegangen: House of Plasma und glim Skin

Until February 2024, AEPT hosted the Research Group for Biomedical Plasma Technology (BPT), led by Jun.-Prof. Dr. Andrew R. Gibson. In March 2024, Andrew continued his research activities at the University of York, UK, focusing on the characterization of the unique chemical and physical properties of various plasma sources, with an emphasis on plasma chemistry.


Head of the Chair
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Mussenbrock

Assistant to the Chair
Mrs. Melanie Finke

Former Head of the Chair
Univ.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Awakowicz (Senior Professor)

Former Head of the Research Group Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Jürgen Mentel (Emeritus)

Deputy Head of the Chair
Dr.-Ing. Ralf Hereth

Academic Senior Councillor
Prof. Dr. Julian Schulze
Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Roll (retired)

Head of the Laboratories
Dr. Ihor Korolov

Technical Staff
Michael Becker
Dipl.-Ing. Holger Wolter

Senior Researchers
Dr.-Ing. Birk Berger
Dr. Nikita Bibinov
Dr.-Ing. Bastian Kogelheide
Dr.-Ing. Lars Schücke
Dr.-Ing. Ilija Stefanovic
Dr. Máté Vass
Dr. Dr.-Ing. Li Wang
Dr. Xiao-Kun Wang

Muhammad Azhar, M.Sc.
Florian Beckfeld, M.Sc.
Alexander Böddecker, M.Sc.
Simon Böddeker, M.Sc.
Tim Bolles, M.Sc.
Jan-Luca Gembus, M.Sc.
Florens Grimm, M.Sc.
Ali Hasan, M. Eng.
Dipl.-Ing. Torben Hemke
Gerrit Hübner, M.Sc.
Jonathan Jenderny, M.Sc.
Niklas Nawrath, M.Sc.
Katharina Nösges, M.Sc.
Anna Lena Schöne, M.Sc.
David Schulenberg, M.Sc.
Chongbiao Tian, B.Sc.
Philipp Wirth, M.Sc.
Sahitya Yarragolla, M.Sc.

Student Assistants
Felix Awakowicz
Sebastian Belzer
Tobias Berg
Arisa Bo­d­nar
Dominik Filla
Jonas Gie­se­kus
Jan Hen­drik Göri­cke
Kai Hoeland
Jeldrik Klotz
Constantin Neuroth
Maximilian Ryppa
Jana Schöne
Nils Schoeneweihs
Robin Struck
Leon Surrey
Angie Natalia Torres Segura

Visiting Scientists
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Kurt Behringer, Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik, Garching, Germany
Dr. Zoltán Donkó, Wigner Research Centre for Physics, Budapest, Hungary
Prof. Dr.-Ing Ursel Fantz, Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik, Garching, Germany
Dr. Peter Hartmann, Wigner Research Centre for Physics, Budapest, Hungary
Prof. Dr. Enrique Iglesias, Uni­ver­si­dad Simón Bolívar, Ca­ra­cas, Ve­ne­zue­la
Dr. Hyo-Chang Lee, Korea Research Institute of Standards and Science, Rep. of Korea
Prof. Dr. Yong-Xin Liu, Da­li­an Uni­ver­si­ty of Tech­no­lo­gy, Dalian, China
Dr. Joost van der Mullen, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands
Dr. Iuliia Onyshchenko, Uni­ver­sit­eit Gent, Bel­gi­um
Dr. Parta Saikia, Pon­ti­fi­cia Uni­ver­si­dad Ca­to­li­ca de Chile
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Mohammed Shihab, Tanta University, Tanta, Egypt
Prof. Dr.Ing. Katharina Stapelmann, North Ca­ro­li­na State Uni­ver­si­ty, Raleigh, USA
Dr.-Ing. Sebastian Wilczek, Technische Hochschule Georg Agricola, Bochum, Germany
Prof Dr. Klaus Wiesemann, Ruhr University Bochum, Germany
Prof. Dr. Quan-Zhi Zhang, Dalian University of Technology, Dailan, China

Alumni (since 2002)
Dr.-Ing. Alexander Alexejev
Dr.-Ing. Sabrina Baldus
Dr.-Ing. Andre Bergner
Dr.-Ing. Stefan Bienholz
Dr.-Ing. Ines Bürger
Dr.-Ing. Vera Bracht
Dr.-Ing. Marc Czichy
Dr.-Ing. Michael Deilmann
Dr.-Ing. Benjamin Denis gen. Stoodt
Dr.-Ing. Max Engelhardt
Dr.-Ing. Marcel Fiebrandt
Dr. Felix Fuchs
Dr.-Ing. Tobias Gergs
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Andrew R. Gibson
Dr.-Ing. Sven Gröger
Dr.-Ing. Helmut Halfmann
Dr.-Ing. Patrick Hermanns
Dr.-Ing. Thomas Höbing
Fares Jalled, M. Sc.
Dr.-Ing. Sandra Keller
Dr.-Ing. Friederike Kogelheide
Dr. Jan-Wilm Lackmann
Dr.-Ing. Oliver Langenscheidt
Dr. Yue Liu
Geoffrey Mellar, M.Sc.
Anja Mersdorf
Dr.-Ing. Philipp Mertmann
Dr.-Ing. Felix Mitschker
Dr. Zaka-Ul-Islam Mujahid
Dr.-Ing. Ryan Thomas Nguyen-Smith
Dr.-Ing. Moritz Oberberg
Dr.-Ing. Björn Offerhaus
Dr. Ramasamy Pothiraja
Dr.-Ing. Priyardarshini Rajasekaran
Dr.-Ing. Jens Reinelt
Dr.-Ing. Stefan Ries
Marcel Rudolph, M.Sc.
Dr.-Ing. Cornelia Ruhrmann
Maria Schnober, M.Sc.
Manuel Schröder, M.Sc.
Dr.-Ing. Martin Schulze
Dr.-Ing. Egmont Semmler
Jun.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Katharina Stapelmann
Dr.-Ing. Simon Steves
Dr.-Ing. Tim Styrnoll
Dr.-Ing. Georg Wenig
Dr.-Ing. Michael Westermeier


If you have any questions about our teaching please get in contact with Thomas Mussenbrock via E-Mail.

In case you are interested in a project, a bachelor or master thesis, you will find available topics in the display case opposite the elevator next to the entrance to our chair (building ID, flow 01). The contact persons are assigned to each topic.


The research at AEPT and BPT is divided into four research areas, which have a large overlap in content due to the interdisciplinary nature of plasma technology.

  • Materials Processing and Environmental Applications
  • Technological High-frequency Plasmas
  • Modeling and Simulation
  • Biomedical Applications

The research is supported to a significant extent by public funding sources. These are

  • the German Research Foundation (DFG)
  • Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)
  • the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi)
  • the Ministry of Economic Affairs, Innovation, Digitalisation and Energy of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia (MWIDE.NRW)

The lists of ongoing and already completed DFG projects can be found here:

As part of our research, AEPT is/was member of the following coordinated research initiatives, among others:


Postal address
Ruhr-Uni­ver­si­tät Bo­chum
Lehrstuhl für Angewandte Elektrodynamik und Plasmatechnik
D-44780 Bo­chum, Germany

Ruhr-Uni­ver­si­tät Bo­chum
Lehrstuhl für Angewandte Elektrodynamik und Plasmatechnik
Building ID, floor 1, room 551
Universitätsstraße 150
D-44780 Bo­chum, Germany

+49 234 32 23062

+49 234 32 14230

Email address
se­kre­ta­ri­at@aept (please add “.rub.de”)

Arrival by public transport
Take the U35 underground line to the Ruhr-Universität stop. On the pedestrian bridge, turn right. Before reaching the first building, keep left and go down the spiral staircase there. You are now on I-Nordstraße – follow this downhill for approx. 400 m to the ID building. The AEPT chair is located on floor 1 in the north-west of the building.

Arriving by car
Drive to Bochum to the I-Südstraße corner Oststraße. There you will find the building ID. The chair AEPT is located on floor 1 in the northwest of the building.

Google Maps navigation